The First Degree - Yves Black

09 The First Degree – Yves Black

Screenshot-266

“So, I really think you’re ready,” Elsa smiles at me after our 5th lesson, “You’re progressing more and more every time… I have complete confidence in you…”
“I’m glad you do, I’m not so sure…”

Screenshot-268

“You’re so negative!” Elsa pokes me and I flinch, “Do you meditate?”
“What?”
“You know, meditate, clear your mind…?”

Screenshot-267

“No…”
“Well you really should, you need to have more faith in your ability to succeed… if you go through life thinking you suck at something then the chances are you will suck at it…”
“What are you, a counsellor as well as a driving instructor?”

Screenshot-269

Elsa shrugs, “Nah, I just believe you should try to be the best you can be… and you can’t do that if you let your lack of confidence cloud your judgement and your dreams…”
I stare at her sceptically.
“What are you doing tomorrow?”

Screenshot-270

“Um…”
“Good, because you’re coming to my yoga class.”
“Wha-?!”
“Bah bah!” Elsa clamps her hand over my mouth, “You’re coming, you can drive us… I’ll be here at 7:30 – the class starts at 8…”
“In the morning?!”

Screenshot-271

Elsa laughs, “Yes, in the morning, now get the hell out of my car so I can make some money!”
“See you tomorrow then,” I give her a small salute.
“Atta boy,” she winks and laughs, and I can’t help but join in.

Screenshot-272

+++++++

I’m still smiling when I enter the house; I place the keys on the kitchen work top and pour myself a cool glass of lemonade, that’s when the telephone catches my eye.

Screenshot-274

The screen of the cradle blinks at me irritably; a flashing number alerts me to six missed calls and a message.
I press the play button.
“Yves, it’s Maya…” my heart is instantly thumping in my chest… I’ve not heard her voice for nearly a week… I miss her like crazy.
Screenshot-273

“I got this number from Fin… I’m sorry to phone you… I know you’ve left because of me and I want you to know that I miss you.” Maya’s voice pauses and I listen to the crackling static of a bad telephone line for a few moments, “I’ve had a lot of time to think… I can’t believe you’d leave at such a crucial time in our relationship… we’re on a break and you take a holiday? I’m sorry to do this over the phone but this just proves to me how immature you can be… I love you, but my god you’re completely infuriating at times! God knows how much this holiday has cost you… us! How are we supposed to save for a house if you’re spending all your savings on whimsical ideas and holidays…”

Screenshot-275

I’m aware that she’s started what I like to call a ‘Maya Rant,’ I don’t even bother listening to the rest of the message, I hold down the delete button and wait for the bleep of the machine.
OK, so yeah, maybe that’s mean, but seriously… doesn’t she realise I came all this way to think? How am I supposed to do that with her jabbering in my ear like she does at home? I don’t feel guilty.
I stare at the phone for a few moments before grabbing my lemonade and sitting in front of my laptop. Suddenly, I feel inspired.

Screenshot-276

++++++

Screenshot-277
Yoga is hard.
You might already know that… but if you don’t, I’m telling you – it’s really, really hard.
I’m currently on all fours with my ass pointing towards the sky in what I’m told is called ‘Down-ward Dog.’ The blood is rushing to my head and my palms are buzzing with an odd sort of sensation I can only describe as being similar to pins and needles.

Screenshot-278

Sure, you might think that Yoga is just about sitting on the floor in some sort of weird cross-legged position, but it’s not… at all. I mean, I’ve been here for an hour and I haven’t even sat down yet…
“You OK?” Elsa whispers to me from her yellow mat, she makes the entire ‘Sun Salutation’ look effortless.

Screenshot-279

I manage a quick nod.
“Not bad for a beginner, Yves!” the instructor, Carl, calls to me… he’s some sort of hippy hunk… his washboard abs are sickening and his biceps are about the same size as both of my legs.
I don’t respond, I’m scared that if I move my arms might fall off.

Screenshot-280

“OK!” Carl claps his hands, “Time for relaxation!”
I lower myself to the floor and sigh. That feels good.
“OK, take up the corpse position…” Carl too, lies on his mat.
The what position?

Screenshot-281

I glance at Elsa, she signals for me to lie on my back… I look around and see everyone laying down, their hands laying comfortably by their sides, I do the same.
“OK, everyone concentrate on your breathing, a deep breath in…” I inhale, “and out…”

Screenshot-282

“With every breath imagine positive energy being drawn into your body, cool, pure energy… relax your entire body… good, good… when you breathe out, breathe out hot, negative energy, dispel it from your body…”
I breathe in deeply, comfortably, and exhale…

Screenshot-283

“You’re feeling so, so heavy now,” Carl explains soothingly, “So heavy, so relaxed, so at ease…”
I continue to focus on my breathing, in and out, in and out… deep, yet comfortable breaths… I close my eyes.
“Stay in this position for as long as you need to…” Carl explains, and then he says no more.

+++++++++++

These updates will get more frequent as I want to wrap up The First Degree and move on to the Second. Also, keep your eyes peeled for my Halloween story, although it will be pretty smutty and full of bad language so you have been warned! 🙂 xx

One thought on “09 The First Degree – Yves Black

  1. I’m conflicted. On one hand i’m glad that Maya misses Yves and reached out to him, and on the other hand I’m pissed because he’s doing so well without her. Can’t wait to see where this goes.

Leave a Reply

