IRL · Random Ramblings

Goodbye, 2016

Um, Hi!
It’s been bloody ages, hasn’t it?
I’m posting this on New Years Eve and I have to say, I am glad to see the back of this year!
I wanted to take a moment to reflect on 2016, I mean, what a year… am I right?

untitled-2

I hit 1k on my YouTube channel which was an unspoken goal of mine for 2016.
The channel continues to grow, albeit slowly, but it’s growing nonetheless and I’m so happy to put my time into it.
I think it’s so important to have some kind of creative outlet and my writing as well as editing videos certainly help me in that respect.

I also solved a mystery this year! (Just call me Nancy Drew.) Yeah, I might have been ignoring some really horrible stomach pains for around 8 years or so… I know what you’re thinking, 8 years? Why didn’t I go to the doctors like a sane person?
Well, the pain was extremely intense whilst I was experiencing it – the only way I can describe it is to say it was like contortion. Basically like someone was tying my guts and stomach in knots. However, once the pain subsided (Usually around 1 -2 hours after onset) I felt completely normal and wouldn’t have another episode for up to 6 months. I really thought I was simply eating something that didn’t agree with me, although I was having a lot of trouble figuring out what that might be.
Earlier this year I had another episode which was so severe I was admitted to hospital and placed on a morphine drip, suffice to say it was pretty bad.
To cut a long story short, I was referred for an ultrasound which confirmed I have gallstones.  I didn’t actually know what gallstones were so here’s a link I found helpful which I can refer you to without me having to write a massive long burb.
I’ve since been referred to a surgical consultant and am awaiting further news. (Was booked in for the op to be carried out in November only to have the procedure cancelled the day before which I was a tad irritated by to say the least!)
012

I also can’t forget to mention my gorgeous angel pug, Gretchen who we said goodbye to in March.
I think about her so often. I imagine the feel of her fur, her little snuffles and her cuddles on an evening. I think of her insistent yip, her demanding nature, her grumbles at the other pugs and more than anything, I miss her. I didn’t realize how hard I could fall for a pug, which if you’re not an animal lover you might not understand but I’m telling you, for those few months after we had to have her euthanized I experienced a pain I didn’t know I could feel. I love my little furbabies and I’m devastated we had to say goodbye to Gretchen so early but I am also grateful that I was able to make that decision on her behalf and say farewell to her before things had gone too far.

I’ve also been working on my novel again which I’m so excited about, I’m trying to write at least 500 words a day which is going OK and so far I’m about 6,000 words in. The novel itself is what I suppose you’d call contemporary women’s fiction? Romantic suspense? Something like that. I’ve really no idea what I’m doing but I’m enjoying myself and that’s the main thing, right?

2016 has been taxing in many ways, my health, my financial situation blah blah, but you know what? I have a roof over my head. I have clothes on my back. I have a job. I have an amazing family and a beautiful daughter. This makes me richer than many and for that I’m eternally grateful.

So here’s to another year on planet Earth! Let’s make 2017 something ultra special!
Happy New Year!

15622315_10154691697917184_5783276368098062536_n

Leave a Reply

