IRL · Random Ramblings

Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Me. (Part One)

title

Hey!

In an effort to be more present on my blog I thought it might be cool for you to get to know me a little better!

imag0727

1.

I used to be painfully shy.
I know, crazy to think, right? I mean, I now have a YouTube channel plus a public facing job yet up until my early twenties (Yes, as late as that) I was terribly insecure and suffered from extreme low confidence.
Speaking to friends and family wasn’t a problem but get me in a room full of strangers and expect me to speak? No thanks.
I was pushed by a lot of people I knew to be more outgoing, to speak more, some people even thought there was something wrong with me. (Shh 😉 ) Others thought my lack communication was due to me looking down on others. I was told “I hope it hurts when you fall off your pedestal.” Nice, right?
I didn’t have a lot of people I’d class as friends growing up either, but I was never lonely; I simply found social interaction and occasions tiring more than energizing which confused a lot of people.

I hate small talk even now although I’ve got pretty good at it!
As I’ve grown up I’ve got a heck of a lot more confident but I’ve also come to realise that being more selective over who I interact with is actually a good thing and I’ve embraced my introvert nature for what it is. Living in this world where being extrovert is the norm and “quiet” is often portrayed as a negative quality can be hard but as the saying goes:
Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak and to remove all doubt.
— ABRAHAM LINCOLN.

Leave a Reply

