Happy Things · Uncategorized

My Happy Things|July 2017 Favourites

Happy Things

 

July 2017

It’s kind of terrifying that July is over and we’re already hitting up August.
When you’re a kid it’s all about the next birthday and you tell adults that you’re 7 AND A HALF or 9 and THREE QUARTERS– you want the months to fly by so you can reach the summer holidays or Christmas; before you know it you’re in your 30’s staring wrinkles and grey hair in the face, wondering why you wished your childhood away.
Anyhoo, I sound like a miserable old croon so I’ll just move on with this month’s happy things!

image1

I have been reading, A LOT.
I’ve always been an avid reader and just recently I’ve been demolishing books at the same rate I demolish share bags of crisps (Which is ridiculously quickly)
The first book is, of course, Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.
I read this at the beginning of the month and even wrote a little blurb on it which you can read here.
It’s just a really great read.
Nostalgia, adventure, a little romance… I loved it. It spoke to my nerdy heart and I’d 100% recommend it to anyone who’s into MMOs, D+D and gaming in general. It’s fricking awesome.
I won’t go into any more detail because obviously, I want you to stick around and read my actual Ready Player One blurb but anyway, I liked it. It was good. Etc. Blah.

IMG_1688
The second book I want to mention is by an author who was until this point unknown to me.
Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter.
Gonna be honest here, this is kind of ridiculous, but I was put off by the author’s name.
I thought it was a dumb pen name meant to sound impressive because of the books she writes. I was shallow and stupid and my regret is that I made a judgement based on something so petty. Ugh, Heather, you fool.
Anyway, Karin Slaughter is actually her real name which, when you think about it is pretty cool considering she writes crime/thriller novels.
I was completely blown away by this book.
I have yet to write a blog post about it but I will.
When Claire Scott’s seemingly perfect husband is murdered she finds herself having to pick up the pieces of her life alone- with the police and FBI  involved suddenly secrets become unearthed and the truth slowly unravels itself shaking Claire to her very core and leaving her wondering if she ever really knew her husband at all.
If you don’t like dark, twisted, violent reads, this really isn’t for you. I honestly feel it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read. I couldn’t put it down, it kept me guessing every step and completely blew me away.

I have fallen in love.
I was casually watching some Instagram Stories one day when one account I followed was unboxing some books with the most beautiful piece of music playing in the background.
I haven’t heard a tune I’ve instantly fallen in love with for what feels like forever, in fact, the last time it happened was when I heard Hozier’s Sedated. (I love that man)
Anyway, this is 6/10 by Dodie.
I adore it. Check it out.

Finally, I wanted to mention the film Okja which is a Netflix Original.
I love anything which makes me emotional. That sounds dumb, I know, but sometimes I need a good cry. Okja totally helped me with that this month.
Okja is the story of a genetically modified creature which has been created in order to become a potential solution to global hunger.
A batch of “Super Piglets” are dispatched across the globe to be fattened up and entered into a competition. The winner of said competition will win an all expenses paid trip to New York to be unveiled to the world, and then be slaughtered.
Okja, of course, is one of these piglets- however, Okja is empathic, intelligent and loving – she is also the loyal companion to a young teenage girl who will do anything to keep her “Super Piglet” safe.
It’s such a beautiful story and I would really recommend it.
Weird that it’s in my happy things considering how much I cried, but still.

That’s it for July’s Happy Things!

Onward, to August!

S xx

Leave a Reply

